FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) — A total of 22 Kentucky counties have now qualified for unemployment assistance due to severe weather that occurred beginning mid-April.

The state Education and Workforce Development Cabinet says Floyd County is the latest county added to the list. The others are Ballard, Boyd, Carlisle, Carroll, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Pike, Webster and Union.

People who have lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to severe weather during the period covered may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits. Farmers and self-employed people are normally not eligible for unemployment benefits but may qualify for the disaster assistance.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to BenefitsPRO, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical BenefitsPRO information including cutting edge post-reform success strategies, access to educational webcasts and videos, resources from industry leaders, and informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM, BenefitsPRO magazine and events
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.