LANSING, Mich. (AP) — An insurance board says the annual fee that Michigan drivers pay for some personal injury costs will increase 6 percent to $186 per year starting July 1.

The Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association announced the fee Wednesday. The current cost is $175 per vehicle.

The state's no-fault insurance law requires insurance companies to pay the annual assessment to cover personal injury benefits.

The association reimburses insurers for costs above $500,000 for the care and treatment of seriously injured auto accident survivors.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to BenefitsPRO, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical BenefitsPRO information including cutting edge post-reform success strategies, access to educational webcasts and videos, resources from industry leaders, and informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM, BenefitsPRO magazine and BenefitsPRO.com events
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including ThinkAdvisor.com and Law.com
NOT FOR REPRINT

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from www.copyright.com. All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.