(AP Photo/Mathew Sumner)

On May 17, 2004, Massachusetts became the first state to issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples. Less than a decade later, on Aug. 29, 2013, the Internal Revenue Service announced that all legally married same-sex couples in the U.S. will be allowed (and required) to file joint federal income tax returns, regardless of state of residence.

Same-sex marriages are now taking place in Maine, Maryland, Washington, Colorado, Rhode Island, Delaware, Minnesota and some counties of New Mexico. This year, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled unconstitutional Section 3 of the federal Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), which had barred federal recognition of same-sex marriage. It also overturned California’s Proposition 8, which made same-sex marriage legal in the U.S.’s largest state by population.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to BenefitsPRO.com, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited BenefitsPRO.com content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical BenefitsPRO.com information including cutting edge post-reform success strategies, access to educational webcasts and videos, resources from industry leaders, and informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM, BenefitsPRO magazine and BenefitsPRO.com events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including ThinkAdvisor.com and Law.com

Already have an account?


© 2023 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from www.copyright.com. All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.



Join BenefitsPRO

Don’t miss crucial news and insights you need to navigate the shifting employee benefits industry. Join BenefitsPRO.com now!

  • Unlimited access to BenefitsPRO.com - your roadmap to thriving in a disrupted environment
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including ThinkAdvisor.com and Law.com
  • Exclusive discounts on BenefitsPRO.com and ALM events.

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join BenefitsPRO

Copyright © 2023 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.